Winner of Young Tax Professional of the Year Award 2013 to be announced at IFA Congress

The countdown has started, with less than a week to go until the winner of EY’s Young Tax Professional of the Year Award 2013 is announced at the 67th International Fiscal Association (IFA) Congress, in Copenhagen, Denmark

In this year’s competition, Romania will be represented by Bogdan Mihalache, graduate of Academy of Economic Studies, Bucharest, and winner of the local competition of EY Tax Acedemy 2013.


Stephan Kuhn, EMEIA Tax Leader at EY, comments: “28 young finalists have been selected from more than thousand students from all over the world and challenged both on their technical tax abilities and wider commercial strengths. This year’s entrants represented more than 200 universities, and we are extremely pleased that so many tertiary institutions in so many countries are supportive of this initiative.”


The successful finalists will have the opportunity to work closely with a diverse range of tax professionals who will be assisting in preparing the candidates to meet with the final judging panel. The finalists will be challenged over a four-day period with international taxation case studies. They will face interviews before expert judges, who will be looking for evidence of creative and analytical strengths, as well as practical skills, inclusive leadership behavior and personality. The judging panel will then confirm the three winners of the EY Young Tax Professional of the Year Award 2013.


The panel includes leading members of governments and tax administrations, distinguished professors, tax directors of some of the world’s largest multinational companies and partners from EY’s Tax practice.


The three finalists for the Young Tax Professional of the Year Award 2013 will be announced at a prestigious ceremony to be held on the evening of 28 August, at a joint IFA and


EY gala dinner at Moltke’s Palace. They will be presented with prizes that provide an opportunity for personal experience, as well as connection with, and understanding of, the various tax markets:

  • First prize: a 30-day “round-the-world” business trip built around 10-day working visits to key EY Area Tax Centers in London, Washington DC and Hong Kong
  • Second prize: a 10-day visit to one of EY’s Area Tax Centers
  • Third prize: an invitation to participate in an EY international client conference, at which the winner will have the opportunity to meet our leaders and key clients



In 2012, Romanian Olga Tene won the second prize in the final of Young Tax Professional Of The Year. The prize was a ten days round business trip at the Area Tax Center in London.


    The Young Tax Professional of the Year 2013 finalists are:



Andreas Mitterlehner

Vienna University of Economics and Business


Annelies Renier

Université Libre de Bruxelles


Patricia Martinuzzo

Universidade de São Paulo


Steffen Strande Olsen

Copenhagen Business School


Sondos El-Kady

The American University in Cairo


Tuomas Kiviranta

University of Helsinki and Aalto University School of Business


Mathieu Ferré

Université Toulouse 1 Capitole


Jil Fritz

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät Ingolstadt (WFI), Ingolstadt School of Management

Hong Kong

Yuhao Zhou

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University


Péter Barta

Corvinus University, Budapest


Charishma Motwani

R. A. Podar College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai


Daiana Buono

Federico II University, Naples


Marzhan Surabaldinova

KIMEP University, Almaty



Joel Wong

Daniel Nygaard Nyberg

HELP University, Kuala Lumpur

University of Oslo


J?drzej Figurski

University of Warsaw


Raquel Sofia Zé Senhor Mesquita

Catholic University of Lisbon


Mihalache Bogdan

Academy of Economic Studies, Bucharest


Karina Morozova

Saint-Petersburg State University of Economics

South Africa

Johannes Willem Small

University of Pretoria


Beatriz De La Red

Universidad de Navarra, Madrid


Eleonora Strandh

Uppsala University


Valentin Schneebeli

University of Zurich and University of Maastricht

The Netherlands

Janko Nikoli?

Leiden University


Alaz Da?lar Keyvankl?o?lu

Dokuz Eylül University and University of Reading


Robert Mbaziira

Makerere University, Kampala


Borys Ulanenko

Donetsk National University

United Kingdom

Natasha South

University of Bristol



Find out more about the Young Tax Professional of the Year Award by visiting us at: www.ey.com/ytpy.